The center of the political structure is Council, which operates through a number of committees. The following committees and standing committees assist the Council in performing its responsibilities:
•    Corporate Services
•    Budget and Treasury
•    Engineering
•    Strategic Planning and LED
•    Community Services
•    Sport, Arts & Culture
•    Rules Committee
•    Audit Committee
•    Municipal Public Accounts Committee
These committees are established in terms of Section 79 and 80 of the Local Government Municipal Structures Act 117 of 1998 [as amended]

The Municipality has Executive Committee system which consists of the Mayor and 9 Executive Committee Members, with 6 who serve as Chairpersons of the Standing Committees.

In total, the Municipality has 46 Councillors (23 Ward Councilors and 23 Proportional Representation Councilors).  Councilors are elected to
•    represent local communities on municipal councils,
•    to ensure that municipalities have structures mechanisms of accountability to local communities,
•    and to meet the priority needs of communities by providing services equitably, effectively and sustainably within the means of the municipality.
 In fulfilling this role, Councillors must be accountable to local communities and report back at least quarterly to Constituency


The Mayor is the senior political office bearer of a municipality. The work of the Council is co-ordinated by a Mayor who is elected by Council. The Mayor is assisted by councilors in an Executive Committee (elected by council) or a Mayoral Committee (appointed by the mayor). The Mayor together with the Executive or Mayoral Committee also oversees the work of the Municipal Manager and department heads. The Mayor’s office also oversees over the Special Programmes Unit (SPU), Sport and Intergovernmental Relations through the Manager in the office.

Mayor – Cllr Bandile Ketelo     -     040 653 1214
Manager – Office of the Mayor    -    046 645 7443    This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Secretary to the Mayor            -    040 653 1214     -  zndayiThis email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

OFFICE OF THE SPEAKER                                                                                                        
The Speaker’s primary responsibility is to:
•    Preside at meetings of council;
•    Ensure that Council meets at least once quarterly;
•    Maintain order during council meetings;
•    Ensure compliance in the council and council committees with the Code of Conduct;
•    Ensure that council meetings are conducted in accordance with the rules and orders of Raymond Mhlaba Council;
•    Ensure that Councillors and Traditional leaders get adequate notice of meetings
•    Ensure implementation of procedure with regard to quorums and compliance as prescribed in Section 30 of the Municipal Structures Act;
•    Allocate speaking time to members in accordance with Council policy;
•    Implement voting procedure in accordance with Rules of Order as prescribed in the Municipal Structures Act;
•    Ensure that Councillors and Traditional leaders' freedom of speech is exercised, subject to Council’s Rules of order;
•    Ensure and facilitate the admission of public to council meetings;
•    Grant leave of absence to Councillors and Traditional leaders in accordance with Council’s Rules of order;
•    Guard against the abuse of Councillor privileges and interests;
•    Ensure that Councillor benefits are implemented as per the Determination of Upper Limits for Political Office Bearers Gazette;
•    Work hand in gloves with Traditional leaders participating in the proceedings of municipal council; and
•    Maintain an attendance register for all Council meetings.

Responsibility of the Speaker’s Office also include:
•    Promoting Public Participation and handling of petitions;
•    Ensuring the establishment and effectiveness of Ward committees - a structure created to assist the democratically elected representative of a ward (the councillor) to carry out his or her mandate;
•    Ensuring the establishment and effectiveness of sec 79 committees e.g MPAC, Women Caucus, Rules Committee, etc.
•    Ensuring effectiveness of the moral regeneration movement as one of the committees responsible in ensuring that the morals within communities in the jurisdiction of Raymond Mhlaba are maintained;
•    An additional role that the municipal council can consider for the Speaker relates to ward committees. Council may task the Speaker with overseeing the establishment and functioning of ward committees. In that scenario, the speaker would, for example:  
     oversee the election of ward committee members;
     ensure functionality of ward committees and reporting on meetings takes place; and
     co-ordinate the assignment of PR councillors to ward committees if the council decides to go that route.

Ward Committees are the vehicles through which the notions of a participatory democracy and a representative democracy as outlined in Section 152 of the Constitution become a reality.

Ward committees
•    (a)       may make recommendations on any matter affecting its ward-
(i)         to the ward councillor; or
(ii)        through the ward councillor, to the metro or local council, the executive committee, the executive mayor or the relevant metropolitan sub-council;
•    Advising ward councillors on policy matters affecting wards;
•    Identifying needs and challenges that wards face;
•    Receiving complaints from residents about municipal service delivery; and
•    Communicating information to wards on budgets, IDP’s and service delivery options.

Speaker – Cllr A.W. Ntsangani                - 046 645 7493
Manager Speaker’s Office – Luthando Gwayi    - 046 645 7492 - This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Secretary to the Speaker – Nombulelo Mphahlwa        -046 645 7493 – This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
PA to the Mayor            -    040 653 1214     -  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


March 2020
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31
No events

Login Form